Smriti Mandhana becomes first Indian cricketer to be named in ICC’s Women’s Team of the Year

during game two of the women's one day international series between Australia and India at Blundstone Arena on February 5, 2016 in Hobart, Australia.

In a historic first, Smriti Mandhana has been named in the ICC Women’s Team of the Year, announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The women’s team of the year will be captained by West Indies’ Stafanie Taylor.

The team of the year, regarded as the Hall of Fame for the year, consists of players who have given an exemplary performance between September 14, 2015 and September 20, 2016. This includes the Women’s World T20 and Women’s Championship.

The side was selected by a panel consisting of Clare Connor (Chair), Mel Jones and Shubhangi Kulkarni.

Meanwhile, Suzie Bates from New Zealand became the first cricketer to clinch both the Women’s ODI and T20 player of the year awards. In ODI‘s, she scored a massive 472 runs in only 8 ODI’s at a whopping average of 94. She also took 8 wickets at the rate of 3.75. In T20’s, she was the leading run scorer with 429 runs at an average of 42.90 and strike-rate of over 115. Bates had won the Women’s ODI player of the year in 2013 too.

Women’s Team of the Year (in batting order): Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wicketkeeper), Smriti Mandhana (India), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain), Meg Lanning (Australia), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Heather Knight (England), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Sune Luus (South Africa), Anya Shrubsole (England), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand). 12th player: Kim Garth (Ireland).